The Espresso-Machine Car

When I used to drive long distances, coffee was my salvation. That, and chocolate-covered coffee beans. Give me a cup of coffee or a few chocolate-covered coffee beans, and I could drive all night. Sadly, in many places in the western United States, places to stop and get coffee–good coffee–can be few and far between when you are on the open road.

Apparently, they have that same problem in Europe, but one car company has come up with a solution:

[The] new crossover model the Fiat 500L boasts a whole range of accessories, but the one drawing the most attention and perhaps concerns, is their built-in espresso machine. That’s right. Forget your Starbucks runs, or trying to rush out the door to work with your homemade brew.  Instead, inside your console you’ll find a “new coffee machine created in collaboration with Lavazza,” considered to be the Starbucks of Italy.
“The 500L is the first standard-production car in the world to offer a true espresso coffee machine that utilises the technology of the ‘A Modo Mio’ pods,” the company said in a press release. “It is perfectly integrated in the car with a deck designed expressly by Fiat.”

I kind of like the idea of turning one’s car into an espresso machine. Here is their ad, if you are curious:

And here is a detail of the espresso machine:

Fiat espresso machineFor legal reasons, it is unlikely that this option will be available for cars sold in the US, which is a pity.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in food and drink and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Espresso-Machine Car

  1. lizp4 says:

    Aw, heck! I just bought a new Keurig!

  2. I had a part time job making espressos from organic, fair trade coffee beans and that was no big deal. I have had espresso from Starbucks and asked myself, “why do people drink these?” I was in San Francisco on Mission Street. I stopped into a little place called La Traviata for a bite to eat. When I was done, an elderly Italian insited I have a cafe. He brought me a cup of espresso and it was a luxury that I have rarely known the likes of. If the Fiat makes something like that, I’ll park the car as close to my kitchen as I can get it.

Leave a Reply

