What To Do If A Bear Attacks, Part 2 (Or, Dude!)

In Part 1 of our series, we saw Julie Tremmel attempt to scare off a bear by acting psychotic. We are not passing judgement on her tactic–it might work. But if you want to be sure of surviving a bear attack, the following tactic has been proven 100% successful. Canada.com reports:

Gilles Cyr was out for a walk through his woodlot when, suddenly, a large black object ran out of the woods and attacked him.
So, in order to prevent the bear from killing him, Cyr grabbed its tongue in a desperate bid for survival …
“When I opened up my eyes it was on top of me — with the friggin’ noise, it’s crazy the way it growls. Right from the stomach. It’s not from the mouth, it’s just inside. His mouth was wide open right in front of my face so the last thing I remember I had his tongue in my hand and I didn’t want to let go because he was trying to fight me of,” Cyr explained to the CBC.
“So he was hitting me with his claws, so I says, ‘If you’re going to hurt me, I’m going to hurt you too.’ So he was biting his tongue at the same time.”

The stymied bear let up, and he managed to escape and hide behind a tree.

As we all have trouble imagining such a scene, the beloved Taiwanese animators made a video showing how it might have looked.

So, make a note it: If a bear attacks, grab its tongue!

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

