A “Personal” Email From Mitt Romney

Here is a screenshot of a portion of a “personal” email I just received from Mitt Romney:

Romney email

This is fascinating on so many levels.

First of all, how did he get my email address? I work fairly hard to keep my email addresses off mailing lists, and have been quite successful thus far. Certainly, I have never signed up for anything related to Mitt Romney.

Second, when I click on the links or look at the return address, I see that it is not really from Mitt Romney at all. It is from the National Republican Congressional Committee. Now, I am all in favor of the Republicans gaining control over both chambers of Congress, but anyone who knows me or has even spent one second reading my blog would know that I have no intention of sending one dime to the Republicans, for any purpose–it is part of what is wrong in the US. If something is not part of the solution, it is part of the problem, and the GOP is definitely part of the problem. People who have money and wish to donate it should send it directly to the campaign of the candidates of their choice. It certainly should not go to the Republican Party.

At the same time, Mitt Romney has enough money to fund all of these congressional races himself. Yet, when he last ran for president, he did not spend one dime of his own money on his own campaign. Given that right now I have serious concerns as to how my family will eat next week, it is kind of galling to get a letter from a multimillionaire begging for money, when he himself is not willing to put his money where his mouth is when all is on the line. If he is so worried about Obama and his agenda, he should have gone all in back in 2012, and run a better campaign.

So, no. I’m not interested in donating $45 to the Republicans, and find it less likely that I would ever donate to them after receiving this unsolicited email.

If they want to win elections, they need to support better candidates, and stop sabotaging the candidacies of people who represent new ideas and new blood.

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

