Updated: Two Corinthians, Second Corinthians? Art of the Deal, the Bible? What Difference Does It Make?

Donald Trump has such poor knowledge of the Bible and Christianity that he thinks Second Corinthians is called “Two Corinthians”, and that somehow The Art of the Deal ranks with the Bible as one of the greatest books ever written, even though its worldview stands in diametric opposition to Scripture: Trump bungles Bible reference at Liberty University. Trump reminds me so much of Otto from A Fish Called Wanda:

Otto West: Don’t call me stupid.
Wanda: Oh, right! To call you stupid would be an insult to stupid people! I’ve known sheep that could outwit you. I’ve worn dresses with higher IQs. But you think you’re an intellectual, don’t you, ape?
Otto West: Apes don’t read philosophy.
Wanda: Yes they do, Otto. They just don’t understand it. Now let me correct you on a couple of things, OK? Aristotle was not Belgian. The central message of Buddhism is not “Every man for himself.” And the London Underground is not a political movement. Those are all mistakes, Otto. I looked them up.

Of course, as Rubio’s faith director notes, nothing matters to Trump’s followers:

Update:

Immediately after posting this, there was the obligatory comment on Twitter from a Trumpbot that none of this makes any difference, Trump is a Christian, can’t judge another man’s heart, etc. Here is what Trump said this weekend to Jake Tapper about his “Christian faith”:

TAPPER: Do you regret making that remark (about not asking God for forgiveness)?

TRUMP: No. I have a great relationship with God. I have a great relationship with the Evangelicals. In fact, nationwide, I’m up by a lot, I’m leading everybody. But I like to be good. I don’t like to have to ask for forgiveness. And I am good. I don’t do a lot of things that are bad. I try to do nothing that is bad. I live a very different life than probably a lot of people would think. And I have…

TAPPER: Always? Or just now?

TRUMP: …a very great relationship with God and I have a very great relationship with Evangelicals. I think that’s why I’m doing so well with Iowa.

TAPPER: The life you have now, when you say you try to do good, that sounds very different from decades of tabloid, media coverage, in New York, in which some of your wilder escapades were…

TRUMP: I’m talking about over the last number of years. I’m leading a very good life. I try to lead a good life. And I have. And, frankly, the reason I’m doing so well in Iowa, and leading the polls, including the CNN poll where I’m 33 to 20 in Iowa….

The basis of Christianity is repentance of sin, leading to faith in Jesus Christ. There is no other path leading to salvation. Once again, Trump denies the need for repentance. Indeed, his main defense of his “Christian faith” is his poll numbers. It does matter that Trump is shilling for Christian votes by claiming to be a Christian, when he has no clue what a Christian really is.

This entry was posted in Christianity, politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updated: Two Corinthians, Second Corinthians? Art of the Deal, the Bible? What Difference Does It Make?

  1. Pingback: Must See Video: Rubio Responds to an Atheist | The Tree of Mamre

Leave a Reply

